#BlogTour The Last Daughter by Nicola Cornick

 It’s a pleasure to take part in the BlogTour The Last Daughter by Nicola Cornick

About the Author 

Nicola Cornick is a historian and author who works as a volunteer researcher and guide for the National Trust in one of the most beautiful 17th century houses in England. She writes dual time novels that illustrate her love of history, mystery and the supernatural. Her books have appeared in over twenty five languages, sold over half a million copies worldwide and been described as “perfect for Outlander fans.” Nicola also works as a consultant for TV and radio.

Follow @NicolaCornick on Twitter, on Goodreads, on Instagram, on Facebook, Visit nicolacornick.com

About the book

A secret hidden in the past. A family bound by a dark legacy… Ever since her sister disappeared eleven years ago, Serena Warren has been running from a ghost, haunted by what she can’t remember about that night.

When Caitlin’s body is discovered, Serena returns to her grandfather’s house, nestled beside the ruins of Minster Lovell Hall in Oxfordshire, determined to uncover the truth. But in returning to the place of her childhood summers, Serena stands poised at the brink of a startling discovery – one that will tie her family to a centuries-old secret…

Taking readers from the present day to the Wars of the Roses in the 1400s, and with an enthralling mystery at its heart, The Last Daughter is a spellbinding novel about family secrets, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Barbara Erskine and Kate Morton. 

Review

Serena is reluctant to return to the place where she lost the most important person in her life. The uncertainty has now become a certainty – her sister Caitlin is dead. The remains found close to their old ancestral home. She still struggles to remember what happened on the day her sister disappeared, perhaps because she is afraid she played a part in it.

We leave the mystery and crime scenario of this dual timeline story and meet the characters of the second timeline. The timelines are linked via Minster Lovell Hall and the Lovell family, who in turn play their part in the contentious struggle for power and the War of the Roses.

Cornick is definitely evolving when it comes to her craft, this is by far the best I have read by her yet. it is a captivating combination of historical fiction, crime, magical realism and is topped off by a sci-fi element. It might sound like a lot of genres to mix, but it absolutely works – the storytelling and weaving in and out is done really well.

It also doesn’t hurt that the story is linked to one of the most controversial mysteries in British history, which delivers plenty of fodder for a great read. 

Buy The Last Daughter at Amazon Uk or go to Goodreads for any other retailer. Publisher ‏: ‎HQ pub date 8 July 2021. Buy at Amazon com.