The line between enemies and friends starts to shift…

Chimera (MetaWars, #4)Chimera by Kelly Meding
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is the third in a sci-fi/fantasy series a la X-men and hybrid superheroes Metas: The Complete Series: Trance, Changeling, Tempest, Chimera.
I realise the author has tried to introduce enough info to warrant this being a stand-alone novel and does so successfully. However I felt that it was to the detriment of the actual plot. There was so much back-story, relationships, siblings and half siblings, names and places that it was hard to discern the actual plot in there sometimes.
It is very difficult for Renee to not only interact but work together with someone she considers an enemy, the Bane Chimera. Their relationship takes a surprising turn and one that quite frankly I found hard to swallow. The relationship also put this book on a secure NA level for me instead of YA.
I didn’t like the way the author portrayed Renee when it came to her own image and the way others reacted to it, especially other females. Other females don’t like her because she has a good figure and a big bust. Come again?
She is not only reducing herself to her breasts, which she does on quite a few occasions, without any help from a male I might add. She is also suggesting that women are incapable of liking other females who are good looking or have certain qualities which men might find appealing. We get enough misogynistic characters in NA/YA I think readers can do without the strong female lead characters dissing other women. That aspect of Renee’s character bugged me enough that I felt a lack of empathy for her.
The series could be a stronger one if the previous content isn’t allowed to take over the next episode in the story.
I received a copy of this book courtesy of Edelweiss.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

