The Godborn by Paul S. Kemp


The Sundering is a series of books each written by a different author from The Forgotten Realms. Each book can be read as a stand-alone novel, although reading the Erevis Cale and Twilight War trilogies by Kemp might help to fill in any blanks in the Godborn.

Although I do think this book suffered a little from the fact that the story in the six previous Cale books is mixed together in this one. This explains why we go from Vasen as a baby to Vasen as a man in his 30s and why Gerak seems like a random character, who just happened to pop in for the death and destruction.

None of that detracts from the superb storytelling in fact it just made me more curious about filling in those blanks I mentioned earlier. I think the Wizards of the Coast could do with adding some sort of prologue to each book. I can imagine they read like a Mad Hatter’s tea party to non Dungeons and Dragons followers, who might struggle to see the connections without any back-info.

I have to say the beginning was a superb opening and continuance of theThe Companions and the Erevis Cale tales. It was both tragic and epic and Varra certainly makes an unforgettable entrance and exit all at the same time.
I found this book darker and more gruesome than the last one. Kemp managed to raise the hairs on the back of my neck and make me shudder in disgust, all in one foul swoop.

I am enjoying the concept of the Sundering. I think it is an incredibly interesting collaboration and am looking forward to reading the next book.
I received a copy of this book courtesy of NetGalley and The Wizards of the Coast.

The Companions by R.A. Salavatore The Sundering I
The Godborn by Paul S. Kemp The Sundering II
The Adversary by Erin M. Evans The Sundering III
The Reaver by Richard Lee Byers The Sundering IV
The Sentinel by Troy Denning The Sundering V
The Herald by Ed Greenwood The Sundering VI

View all my reviews