When someone is inside you… watching you and looking straight back at you

Tropic of DarknessTropic of Darkness by Tony Richards
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

What the heck is going on in this book doesn’t really become clear until halfway through the book.
All the ominous under my skin, in my head and she wants out start to make sense.
The reader is kind of on their own up till that point.
Men seem to be killing themselves left right and center with no real connection just for the sheer fun of it.
I think the author needs to work on clarity. The idea in your head needs to be reflected completely on the pages. There is no spooky music or crazy cat eyes shoving the reader in the right direction.
The second half was actually far more interesting. The reader finds out who She is and what she wants. Without revealing any spoilers let me just throw in Cuba and Santeria. That should give you some inkling of what the story is about.
Overall I think the element of the occult and the connection to the suicides could have been utilized with more vigor in the first half. You got bad Juju then why not use it?
I felt the story had potential but the main plot got lost in scenes that often lacked direction.
I received a copy of this book via Netgalley.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

