The kind of secret that kills…

The Good SuicidesThe Good Suicides by Antonio Hill
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Well-written and executed crime novel.
The story starts out with an apparent suicide. The alleged suicide is connected to a previous crime and this link awakens the interest of the police. Simultaneously a cold case is being investigated. The disappearance of a woman called Ruth.
The cases are seemingly unrelated with the exception of one connection.
Hill manages to keep the secrets rolled up tightly until the end. He lets that ball unwind slowly bit for bit, teasing with snippets of information.
He had me going there for a while. I had it all figured out and knew the answers to both crimes.
I was wrong.
I think the sub-plot of César and Emma was superfluous. The story was strong enough without it and the byline added nothing to the plot.
I was hoping for a revelation in the Ruth storyline, instead the author ended it with what I can only call a treacherous clue for the armchair detectives amongst us.
I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

