Derek needs just a little more bite…

Please... Call Me DerekPlease… Call Me Derek by Mac Black
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is an odd little box of mixed toffees.
I can see where the author wants it to go, but personally I think it isn’t there yet.
The author hasn’t quite got the satirical edge or gritty repertoire of a Tom Sharpe. I found it a little jumbled and disorganised for my taste. However that is possibly what will appeal to other readers.
The intent is a flowing portrayal of meandering thoughts taking place in the main characters head, whilst events that are comparable to a Carry On film take place around him and to him.
Concept is solid it just needs a lot more bite, whether politically, socially or any soapbox at all.
I received a free copy of this book for my review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

